Whips appointed

Independent MPs form alliance

Staff Reporter :
ASM Feroz, MP from Patuakhali-2 and former Whip in the 9th Parliament, has been appointed Chief Whip of the 10th National Parliament [Jatiya Sangsad].
Besides, Sherpur-1 MP Md Atiur Rahman Atik, Dinajpur-3 MP Iqbalur Rahim, Maulvibazar-1 MP Md Shahab Uddin, Chuadanga-1 MP Solaiman Haque Joarder Salun and Naogaon-2 MP Md Shahiduzzaman Sarker have been appointed Whips from the ruling party.
It is their new responsibility as Whips in the 10th Parliament though all of
 them were MPs in the previous Parliament.
“A circular has been issued in this regard on Friday after the President’s approval. The Parliament Secretariat has issued a gazette notification in this regard,” said Nazmul Huda, Deputy Director of Public Relations, Parliament Secretariat.
Meanwhile, 16 independent members have formed an alliance where Haji Md Selim [Dhaka-7 MP] became convenor and Raji Md Fakhrul [Comilla-4 MP] became Member Secretary of the body.
Besides, Quamrul Ashraf Khan [Narsingdi 2] and Rustom Ali Forazi [Pirojpur 3] have been made two vice-presidents. “The alliance was formed on Thursday afternoon with consensus among 16 independent MPs. We will inform the Election Commission about this coalition next working day,” Hazi Selim said. He also said: “The number of independent candidates is 16, which is more than five percent of the total seats in Parliament. The new alliance will now nominate candidates for the elections to women’s reserve seats and send a list to the Prime Minister in this regard.”