MKA, Shafiq, Dipu among 35 dropped

Nearly three dozens of influential figures of the immediate past government have failed to win the heart of Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina to have their names in her newly formed 49-member cabinet.Twenty-one of those who fell from the grace are ministers and 14 junior ministers. “Prime Minister relieved those who failed to perform their duties properly while they were in the office,” Awami League general secretary Syed Ashraful Islam told reporters after the oath taking ceremony at Bangabhaban.The 21 dropped ex-ministers are: Home Minister Dr Muhiuddin Khan Alamgir, Foreign Minister Dr Dipu Moni, Environment and Forests Minister Dr Hasan Mahmud, Law Minister Barrister Shafique Ahmed, minister without portfolio Suranjit Sengupta, Food Minister Dr Abdur Razzaque, Industries Minister Dilip Barua, Health Minister AFM Ruhal Haque, Primary and Mass Education Minister Afsarul Amin, Social Welfare Minister Enamul Haque Mostafa Shaheed, Water Resources Minister Ramesh Chandra Sen, Labour Minister Raziuddin Ahmad Raju, Posts and Telecommunications Minister Shahara Khatun, Cultural Affairs Minister Abul Kalam Azad, Civil Aviation and Tourism Minister Faruk Khan, Commerce Minister GM Quader, Fisheries and Livestock Minister Abdul Latif Biswas, Planning Minister AK Khandaker, Land Minister Rejaul Karim Hira, Disaster Management and Relief Minister Abul Hasan Mahamood Ali, and Science & ICT Minister Mostafa Faruk Mohammad.However, AK Khandaker did not contest the 10th parliamentary polls while Abul Hasan Mahamood Ali is yet to be elected as re-voting is needed in his constituency Dinajpur-4 which will be held on January 16. The 14 dropped state ministers are Shamsul Hoque Tuku (Home Affairs), Jahangir Kabir Nanak (LGRD and Cooperatives), Mujibur Rahman Fakir (Health), Motahar Hossain (Primary and Mass Education), Abdul Mannan Khan (Housing and Public Works), Capt (retd) AB Tajul Islam (Liberation War Affairs), Enamul Haque (Energy and Power), Munnujan Sufian (Labour and Employment), Dipankar Talukdar (ChittagongHill-Tracts Affair), Advocate Shahjahan Miah (Religious Affair), Ahad Ali Sarkar (Youth and Sports), Mahbubur Rahman (Water Resources), Omar Faruque Chowdhury (Industries) and Abdul Hye (Fisheries and Livestock).