Documents from EC of 7 politicians sought

The Anti Corruption Commission (ACC) on Thursday sent letters to the Election Commission (EC) seeking the affidavits of seven politicians they submitted to the Election Commission before the 9th and 10th parliamentary polls for probing the allegations of unusual wealth accumulations by them.
“Today, we sent seven letters to the EC seeking the affidavits of seven politicians. We seek affidavits submitted to it before the 9th and 10th parliamentary elections by them,” an ACC inquiry officer told UNB wishing anonymity.
On Wednesday, the ACC appointed seven inquiry officers to probe the allegations of unusual wealth accumulations by the seven politicians, including former ministers and state ministers, and MPs.
The inquiry officers are ACC deputy directors Mirza Zahidul Alam, Khairul Huda, Nasir Uddin, Sheikh Faiaz Alam and Tahsinul Haque and assistant director Masudur Rahman.
The inquiry officers in the first phase will conduct probes into the graft allegation against former Health Minister Dr AFM Ruhal Haque, former State Minister for Housing and Public Works Abdul Mannan Khan, former State Minister for Water Resources M Mahbubur Rahman, Enamul Haque, MP (Rajshahi-4), Abdur Rahman Bodi, MP, (Ukhia-Teknaf), Aslamul Haque, MP, (Dhaka-14) and Abdul Jabbar, former MP, (Satkhira-2).
Mirza Zahidul Alam will conduct inquiry against Dr Ruhal Haque while Khairul Huda against Mahbubur Rahman, Nasir Uddin against Abdul Mannan Khan, Faiaz Alam against Aslamul Haque, Syed Tahsinul Haque against Enamul Haque and Masudur Rahman against Abdul Jabbar. Earlier, this month, the ACC decided to launch probes into the allegations of unusual wealth accumulations by politicians. As per the affidavits of candidates submitted to the EC for the last 10th parliamentary polls, the wealth of the 48 candidates have increased by 363 percent in last five years while that of ministers by 247 percent; state ministers by 459 percent; and deputy leader of parliament, chief whip and whip by 1,689 percent; the Prime Minister by 46 percent and deputy speaker by 238 percent.

Your email address will not be published.