Two women to lead Parliament again


Awami League has elected its chief Sheikh Hasina as leader of their Parliamentary party for the 10th national assembly.

That will mean she will continue as Prime Minister.

The Jatiya Party has elected their presidium member Raushan Ershad as their leader in parliament.



She will thus function as Opposition leader as the JP will sit in Opposition with 33 seats.

She replaces BNP chairperson Khaleda Zia who was Leader of Opposition in the last Parliament.

These decisions were made during separate meetings by Awami League and Jatiya Party’s Parliamentary parties after oath was administered to MP’s in Parliament on Thursday.